Max Verstappen wins 70th Anniversary Grand Prix

Max Verstappen wins 70th Anniversary Grand Prix

August 9, 2020 0 By autotimesnews

The pilot of the Red Bull team had one of the best races of his career and was able to interrupt the winning streak of the Mercedes team.

Red Bull racer Max Verstappen triumphed in brilliant style in the fifth round of the Formula 1 season. The 70th Anniversary Grand Prix was held at the Silverstone circuit in the UK. At the start of the race, there were not many changes – the pilot of “Mercedes” Valtteri Bottas retained the lead, repelling the attacks of his teammate Lewis Hamilton. Red Bull pilot Max Verstappen did the main thing at the start – he passed Nico Hulkenberg from the Racing Point team.

After a few laps, the tires on the Mercedes cars began to wear out, and Max Verstappen, who was chasing them on the harder tires, began to pick up. Bottas was the first of the leaders to go to the pits, and after a lap for new tires, Hamilton went. But Verstappen remained on the track until lap 26. During the pit stop, the Red Bull pilot switched to medium-hard tires and entered the track just behind Bottas and 3 seconds ahead of Hamilton. Verstappen did not pull and, due to a brilliant attack, passed Bottas and created a small gap for himself. Subsequently, Verstappen and Bottas made synchronous pit stops and retained their positions.

Thus, Verstappen won his first victory of the season – in the previous four races, only the drivers of “Mercedes” climbed to the first step of the podium.
With three laps to go, Lewis Hamilton managed to get ahead of Valtteri Bottas due to the fresher tires. With the best lap in the race, Hamilton scored an extra point and extended his lead over Bottas to 34 points overall. The fourth was Ferrari pilot Charles Leclair, who had an excellent race. Monegasque has shown excellent tire performance and has set the best laps far from the freshest set. Leclerc squeezes the maximum out of his car this season, with the exception of a mistake at the Styrian Grand Prix.

Lance Stroll of Racing Point crossed the finish line fifth, ahead of Red Bull’s Alex Albon. Sergio Perez’s replacement Niko Hulkenberg finished seventh. Esteban Ocon from Renault took the eighth position, while Lando Norris from McLaren took the ninth position. After a bright start to the season, the McLaren team is losing ground a little. Rounding out the top ten Losers of the race were Daniel Riccardo from Renault and Sebastian Vettel from Ferrari. Riccardo made a U-turn and destroyed a set of tires, and Vettel was never able to implement the tactics and finished only in 12th place.