Ford introduced the 645-hp Mustang for the Australian racing series Supercars

Ford introduced the 645-hp Mustang for the Australian racing series Supercars

February 10, 2019 0 By autotimesnews

Racing Ford Mustang has in common with the serial only appearance

The Australian division of Ford introduced the Mustang coupe for the Supercars racing series. From this season, the Mustang will replace the Falcon sedan, a locally-made model that Ford teams have played since 1967.

The Mustang coupe for the Supercars series was jointly developed by the Australian DJR Team Penske and Tickford Racing teams with the American division Ford Performance.

Despite a similar appearance, racing Ford Mustang has nothing to do with the serial. It is based on a unified chassis with a spatial frame, double-lever suspensions and a rear gearbox.

This explains the strange proportions of the car: until now, all Supercars racing cars externally copied serial sedans, which are noticeably higher and already the Mustang. At the same time, the external contours of the two-door door were specially modified so that the aerodynamic drag and downforce exactly matched the characteristics of the former Falcon sedan.

When the transition to the new model was only planned, the Fordians were going to switch to the V6 turbo engine. But in the end, these plans were postponed: under the hood of the racing “Mustang” was the same atmospheric V8 of five liters, as in the “Falcon”. This is a special racing engine created on the basis of the motor for the American NASCAR series – the bottom one with dual valve cylinder heads, with a capacity of about 645 horsepower.

In addition to Ford, the Holden series with the Commodore liftback (the local version of Opel Insignia) and the Nissan with the Altima sedan are now in the Supercars series. However, last year Nissan stopped the factory support of the project, and now the Kelly Racing team is acting as a “private trader”. In the recent past, there were teams on the Volvo and Mercedes-Benz sedans.

The Supercars series is nationwide in popularity – it is Australia’s number three sport, after Australian football and cricket. The calendar for the season-2019 has fifteen stages, the first of which will take place on March 2-3 in Adelaide.