Dakar-2019 will be held in only one country for the first time

Dakar-2019 will be held in only one country for the first time

May 18, 2018 0 By autotimesnews

Next year rally-raid “Dakar” in the first in its history will pass through the territory of only one country – Peru. Prior to this race route ran through three countries: in 2018 – Peru, Bolivia and Argentina, in 2017 – in Paraguay, Argentina and Bolivia.

The rally-raid will start on January 6 and finish on January 17. The race will take place on a circular route with the start and finish in Lima. Initially, to participate in the “Dakar-2019” planned Chile, but at the last moment the authorities decided to abandon this for economic reasons. Talks were also held with Ecuador and Bolivia.

In Peru, most of the route – about 70 percent – will consist of sand and dune.

This year there will be a separate classification, which will be designed for those pilots who will face any problems during the first week of the Dakar. Now they will be allowed not to go, but to move into a special category, where, nevertheless, all the rules of the competition, including the start order, will be preserved.

At the “Dakar-2018” in the class of trucks the crew of Eduard Nikolaev won the “Kamaz”, and in the category of cars the best was Carlos Sainz on “Peugeot”. This rally-raid was the last for the French team, which decided to leave the Dakar.